Up Next….The Beating of a Lifetime (Smithers, make a fist for me)

Here are the facts:

A loss in the final regular season game and the Penguins play the Senators to open the playoffs.  Sidney Crosby was a healthy scratch for that game.  The effort the Penguins put forward was embarrassing.  Murray suggests that the Pens laid down to the Fly boys.  The Penguins lost in the first round to the Senators last year.  The Senators are without Alfie, Fisher and Kelly (3 of the top 4 penalty killers).   What does it all mean?  Not a damn thing…oh, and the playoffs start tomorrow. 

I’m a Senators fan, so of course I think they have a chance to advance.  That’s what being a fan is about.  Here’s how they’re going to do it:

1. Gerber is going to stop all of the pucks he’s supposed to stop.

2. Vermette is going to step up his game and be a point/game player.

3. The Senators are going to take the body like they’ve never taken the body before. 

Strike him centurian…treat him very roughly!

That’s it folks.  That’s the only way the Senators are going to move on in these 2008 playoffs.  But, I’d like to expound a bit on point 3.  I’m not talking about just a few players out there bumping guys along the boards.  From roster spot 1 through 18, the Senators are going to have to go all “prison shower” on the Penguins. 

Lastly, we’re going to find out what Dany Heatley and Jason Spezza are made of in this series….and it’s making me a little sick to my stomach.

 

 

Tags:

One Response to “Up Next….The Beating of a Lifetime (Smithers, make a fist for me)”

  1. Dany Heatley Speedwagon Says:

    I’m a Senators fan, so of course I think they have a chance to advance. That’s what being a fan is about.

    Very true. Sooo many Pens bandwagoners have come out of the wood work saying I should be supporting my team and why don’t I want to bet them on the series? I think I would feel more confident betting against the Harlem Globetrotters right about now but that isn’t to say I don’t want the Sens to win. Supporting the team and using your head are two different things.

    The Sens have the pieces in place to beat the Pens. If they come out and play like they have for the last 3/4 of the season their is no reason to think they have a chance beyond the first round. If they can somehow get their act together, pull their heads out of their collective asses and play like they played through the stretch run last season their is no way Pittsburgh can even touch them. Evidence to the contrary however I have trouble believing things can just be turned on a dime like that and we have been witness to the biggest rope a dope in recent memory. Stomach is churning… GO SENS GO!

Leave a Reply

