I Think I Urped in my Mouth

I just want to puke every time I see this crap.  I have no idea why I continue to read it.  Probably the same reason people are fascinated by car crashes and people drowning.

Oh, and here’s a pet peeve: (again, from the Sun)

As such, Jesse Winchester scored a big one in the 2-1 overtime victory that sends the Senators into tonight’s home game against the Flyers with their first .500 record (5-5-2) in weeks. 

The Senators do not have a .500 record.  They’ve won 5 games and lost 7 games.  That is a .417 record.  They have earned 50% of possible points.  Semantics?  sure.

2 Responses to “I Think I Urped in my Mouth”

  1. mj Says:

    In every other sport .500 is meaningful because it means league-average. In hockey, not so much, because league-average is obscured by the OTL points. So far (up to games of Nov. 5) there have been 408 points in 360 games, so league-average is a 0.567 record. The Sens have 12 points in 12 games, or 0.500 of the maximum points, and so taking 0.5 x 0.5/0.567 they are gaining 0.441 of the league average number of points. That number would be equally meaningful as a 0.441 record in baseball, or another sport. I think that number better reflects the results. It doesn’t really matter what their record is from a won/lost perspective, the only goal is getting points (notwithstanding the minor fact that wins are a playoff tiebreaker).

  2. freewillig Says:

    I don’t need to put too fine a point on it if others are willing to do it for me. .441, it is.

Leave a Reply

